It’s in the Contract!

Larry Henares, during his stint in the Philippine Daily Inquirer as daily columnist of Make My Day, had the widest readership in the country. He is a graduate of Ateneo de Manila and the University of the Philippines. He was an Eisenhower Fellow in the USA, an official guest of Great Britain, Israel, Germany, the People’s Republic of China, Indonesia, Soviet Union, and an official representative to conferences abroad. Recently, I learned something new about him. He was, apparently, the co-owner of UNTV Channel 37 (his son Atom was the “official” owner).

Make My Day is now a prime time television program, of course hosted by Larry Henares himself, and of course, where else would it be aired? From Monday to Friday, every 8pm, he endeavors to “make our day” with his program. Well, Mr. Henares, last Sunday, you made my day.

Last Sunday was the 6th year anniversary of UNTV. Mr. Henares was the first speaker. He was really gifted. He was able to capture the attention of the audience at the start of his speech just by reciting his name! Hahaha! A very funny man, Mr. Henares is, and quite frank too. He was able to say on national television that among powerful religious leaders like Mike Velarde and Eraño Manalo (of the INC), none of them was even able to think what Daniel Razon (Vice Presiding Minister of MCGI) was able to do. He was right. UNTV, now the Pillar of Public Service in Philippine Television, through the management of Bro.Daniel and the Members of the Church of God International, was able to provide phenomenal service to the Filipino people. The first ever Transient Home was established in the Philippines through MCGI (by the way you rich folks, should you have people sleeping on the streets near your house, kindly bring them to our Transient Home, it’s on EDSA, near Trinoma, near the UNTV building).

The Transient Home is just the tip of the iceberg. MCGI has been maintaining more than 20 orphanages in the country. I guess you folks are already familiar with the daily medical missions at the UNTV building, also the daily free legal consultations. What’s new this year is the Free College, which just opened last June, located on EDSA Caloocan, which gives free tuition, uniforms and yes free lunch meals (who would want to study on an empty stomach?). I think Mr.Henares was a little impressed. He must be fond of people who had humble beginnings but were able to do monumental things. Last night, on his program Make My Day, he told the life story of Juan Ponce Enrile (rumored to be the next Senate President). I got the impression he was amazed with Enrile who, when he was 19 years old, worked as a poor laborer but after a few years, became a brilliant lawyer and a successful politician (though he never won the Presidency). I think such stories move Mr.Henares. And I believe no story is more moving than the story of how a poor organization like the MCGI managed to do extraordinary beautiful things.

Going back to his speech, Mr. Henares said that he gave 2 conditions to Bro.Daniel before he would allow him, and Bro.Eli to manage his television station:

1. That they would give him a prime time slot for his television program
2. That they would promise him that after he dies, he would enter heaven.

That’s when he said, “it’s true, it’s in the contract”. LOL. LOL. LOL. That’s when I laughed so hard, I almost cried. Of course he was joking, it can’t be in the contract, can it?

Well, maybe not in their television contract but there is actually a contract that exists that the great Mr.Henares might not be aware of:

Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me. – Matthew 25:34-40

Giving drink to a brother of Christ can warrant salvation. Feeding the “least of the King’s brethren” can be your ticket to heaven. Mr.Henares did not only give us a glass of water, but gave, who I believe to be the brethren of Christ, a television station to manage.

I hope Mr.Henares goes to heaven. I’m praying for it.

Note: Originally posted by Brix

Leave a Reply

